Step 1: Conquer the GMAT

14 Jul

My GMAT preparation has officially begun! I know, junior year of college seems pretty early to be taking the GMAT, especially since I won’t start b-school until 2014 or 2015, if all goes according to plan. But I figured I might as well take it before I forget all that high school math and while I’m still in a test-taking mindset. So here’s my GMAT study plan:

1) Kaplan Premier 2011 – I started going through the math yesterday. When I get finish that, I’ll do the verbal and start taking the Kaplan CAT tests online. Right now my biggest problem is staying focused while studying. It’s been a few years since I’ve taken a standardized test, so it might take some time to get used to again. I’ll try to study from this book for about an hour every night, maybe more on weekends.

2) Manhattan GMAT – I’ve read so many good things about these books on Beat the GMAT and GMAT Club (the 2 forums I visit frequently). My plan is to figure out the areas I need the most work on and get the MGMAT books for them. Plus, these come with more online CATs.

3) Official Guide – From what I’ve read, it seems like a good idea to wait until the end of my studying to use the OG, since it’s the best source of practice questions.

4) Last but not least, I’ll take the GMAT Prep tests, the 2 tests the GMAC has online. These seems to be the most representative of the real GMAT and the score you’ll get on it.

I still don’t know exactly when I’ll take the test. I’m going abroad in the spring, so I need to take it before I leave in January. If I’m ready, I might take it in November or December. It will depend a lot on my schedule, so we’ll see.

Here goes!!!

Leave a comment